• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

What are dot-points?!? Pls help! (1 Viewer)

mbbs

HSC
Help guys! I'm an international student - started Yr 11 last month. Got my first hand-in assessment task for Chem and Bio last week.

The notifications both said the task is based on the following dot-points...
8.2.1.2.3; 8.2.1.2.4; 8.2.1.2.5; 8.2.1.3.4

Bio had a different bunch of numbers, but all starting with 8.

Pls tell me what they mean and if they correlate to the textbook or syllabus? I looked at the BOS syllabus but could not find the answer.

K

khorne

Pretty sure they are part of the syllabus...The first two numbers 8.x is the unit you are doing, eg: Acids (or whatever), while the other numbers should correlate to the sub point. If all else fails, ask your teacher.

Deer

Premium Member
HSC
Well theres seems to be too many numbers for the syllabus :?
But say for example :
Biology:
http://www.boardofstudies.nsw.edu.au/syllabus_hsc/pdf_doc/biology_stg6_syl_03.pdf

See the box on the left hand side, there are numbers there? Click on: 8.2 A Local Ecosystem.

Your first dots 8.2.1.2.3
8. refers to 'Preliminary'
2. refers to the module 'A local ecosystem'
1. refers to the first bold dot point (the overall idea) , which is: 1. The distribution, diversity and numbers of plants and animals found in ecosystems are determined by biotic and abiotic factors.
2. refers to the second mini dot point within this bold dot point:
  • Identify the factors determining the distribution and abundance of a species in each environment
3. confuses me. Unless it is a mini dot point within a dot point..
Maybe someone else could help you with this last one :/ Or if all else fails ask your teacher.

hermand

je t'aime.
HSC
Well theres seems to be too many numbers for the syllabus :?
But say for example :
Biology:
http://www.boardofstudies.nsw.edu.au/syllabus_hsc/pdf_doc/biology_stg6_syl_03.pdf