• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

part time job for uni student? (1 Viewer)

waterlml

HSC
Hi just finished my hsc and i'm going to uni next year, i'm looking to find a part time job during uni years, how many hours should a uni student work during the first year? i have no work experience and only want to gain some work experiences in my first year

Speed6

Retired '16
HSC
N/A
^Excellent piece of advice from a respected member of the BOS community right there.

enoilgam

HSC
Repost

In terms of part-time work, tutoring is excellent, especially working for yourself. A private tutor can pull anywhere from $30-$70 an hour cash and you aren't really going to make money like that elsewhere. I ran my own small tutoring business for just over four years and I managed to earn more than enough to keep myself comfortable as a uni student. I did however cut back in my last year of uni to make more time for a job related to my degree and future career, but looking back, this was a mistake as I would have been able to handle it.

However, the main drawback of tutoring is the lack of regular guaranteed employment. That being said, the demand is definitely out there and the key to making it work is offering a high quality service, because word-of-mouth is essential to getting work. As a small business owner once told me "When you run your own business, you have to be competitive every day of the week". Working as a tutor isn't like working at Coles where you can get away with a half-assed effort, if you don't offer a quality service you wont get more work. It's that simple.