• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Essay Format and Structure (1 Viewer)

cook E

HSC
Hey, this question may have been asked before but how many poems can I use for my belonging essay? (btw I'm studying Emily Dickinson's poems).

Also, How should I structure it?

(If I only need to include two of her poems)
-Intro
- First body paragraph(ED Poem)
- Second body paragraph (related material)
- Third body paragraph (ED poem)
- Fourth body Paragraph(Related material)
- Conclusion

(If I need to include three of her poems)
-Intro
- First body paragraph(ED Poem)
- Second body paragraph (related material)
- Third body paragraph (ED poem)
- Fourth body paragraph (ED poem)
- Fifth body Paragraph(Related material)
- Conclusion

I really need to know as I'm having difficulty trying to cut down my essay using three of her poems.

Thanks

Last edited:

yours

HSC
hi im doing dickinson also, I've read some 15/15 essays with different structures so unfortunately there is no hard-fast rule that I can figure out as of yet. One essay was 4 body paragraphs, each like so:
Topic sentence
Poem 1 - 1 example (quote/technique)
poem 2 - ""
RT - ""

different topic sentence
(same as above)

etc.

I think the teacher liked it because it looked 'integrated', although when I was re-reading it for the umpteenth time I started to realise the topic sentences weren't particularly distinct from one another and there was this weird paragraph before the conclusion where they just described the meaning of two of the poems without any quotes/techniques and the teacher ticked it... I'm having trouble coming up with topic sentences that are distinct from one another. They always end up linking too closely or just being the same thing in different words.

This is by far the most frustrating essay of all the english advanced ones.

herbs1

HSC