• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Does anyone actually like audit? (1 Viewer)

HSC
This is a genuine question for all auditors... particularly those working for a big 4.. do you actually enjoy being an auditor???

I started as a grad at a big 4 in February this year and have just started my CA. I really dislike the work and most friends I've started with are unhappy as well. I am wondering what everyone else thinks and whether they regret going into this line of work?

Grad positions/cadetships are so competitive and I don't understand why. To me it seems like a case of people going for it purely for the prestige of working in a big 4... but when it comes down to it auditing is probably one of the most unglamorous jobs in the world. I know when asked what I do for a living I try to avoid saying the word auditor at all costs.. it makes me feel dirty.

My interest has always been in finance rather than accounting which is obviously a major factor for me hating the job. The current market conditions aren't exactly ideal for transitioning into finance but I am thinking of having a go anyway... I can't see myself putting up with audit for the next 2 years and doing my CA on top of that!!!!!

I am wondering if it is because I prefer finance that I hate auditing so much or if everyone feels the same????

Vagabond

Machine
HSC
For me its all been about the client and the team...
I've had times doing very mundane work and on pedantic clients and I've hated every moment of it. Coming to mind are the hours I've spent filling out APRA returns for insurance companies and crunching numbers for fund custodians.